This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.5
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.8
Value
9.4
Reviews
    Julija
    lv
    9.6
    23 February 2018
    Very nice place! Excellent and extremely helpful host with good English! Great location!
    Andre
    br
    9.2
    22 February 2018
    The staff was really nice, good reception and tips about the city. The decoration of the room and the public areas were very traditional. My night there was on the Chinese New Year’s Eve and I was very happy to join the staff for the celebration!
    au
    10
    19 February 2018
    Best stay we had in China. Loved it.
    Could not fault
    Staff were do helpful and the location
    David
    au
    9.2
    21 January 2018
    Beautiful room in beautiful city.
    We were there in winter. Coal is the main fuel for heating. Smog was particularly hazardous especially at night. Hosts gave us complimentary masks to wear. The hot water service is electric, so it will run out if you have a family staying. As a couple we were fine.
    We were greeted with tea on arrival. The hosts were so friendly and accommodating. Just beautiful people. Our room was lovely with huge bed. There is lots to explore in the city. This hotel is located at North Wall, so a good starting point.
    Jelmer
    gb
    9.6
    17 January 2018
    Nothing.
    The hotel is in the outskirts of ancient Pingyao, close to the city wall, and a short walk from the busy streets. It was quiet when we were visiting (in winter), but the room was nicely warm. Breakfast was great. The hotel looked very nice inside.
    Will
    au
    9.2
    10 January 2018
    Old world charm with heated floors!
    Food was excellent, Staff were so helpful.
    it
    10
    29 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    NurtureCraft nurture
    sg
    10
    20 December 2017
    Super friendly staff. They make you feel at home. Gave very good advice.
    Thomas
    gb
    10
    27 November 2017
    Lovely weekend getaway
    Nothing!
    Great atmospheric courtyard hotel with lovely staff and perfect location to explore the old town.
    Steven
    gr
    8.8
    20 November 2017
    Worth it!
    This has nothing to do with the location but I went in Low season (November). It is very cold, not everywhere is fully open but on the plus side you get to avoid the crowds.
    Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Location was perfect - within 10 minutes from all the main areas inside the Walled City. I would definitely go again and recommend the place!
    Anna
    at
    9.2
    13 November 2017
    quiet and atmospheric hostel in pingyao
    The room and breakfast area were a bit cold. There was a heater but it didnt help that much. The shower was right next to the toilet without a shower curtain or anything so if you shower the whole bathroom floor is wet.
    Breakfast was very good. The room was spacious.
    Lewis
    ca
    9.2
    11 November 2017
    Mia and beautiful inn made this a memorable stay. Highly recommend.
    Bathroom was small. Shower not in separate stall resulting in wet bathroom floors.
    The hostess, Mia, was extremely helpful, friendly. The inn itself is beautiful, in traditional Chinese architecture and furnishings. Bed very comfortable. Very interesting courtyard, foliage. Nice sitting area lounge with computer.
    Megan
    au
    10
    28 October 2017
    Great place, great location, beautiful staff, just book!
    We had an amazing stay at city wall old house. It is the best guesthouse we stayed at during our 1 month trip in china. The staff here, especially Mia, Donna, bear, and the chef are so obliging and go out of their way to help and make you feel at home. Mia even came to the train station with us one morning to help is change our tickets! The food at the restaurant isn the best we found in pingyao and so reasonably priced. Don't eat anywhere else!! Breakfast delicious also and the coffees are amazing. The hotel has a roof top garden which is perfect for getting some sun, and the ground floor garden is just beautiful. Free bike hire, everything here is taken care of!! Thanks for an amazing stay, we hope to come back one day!
    de
    10
    24 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mary
    au
    8.3
    19 October 2017
    Quaint place with very polite staff who made the stay excellent.
    3-pin plugs meant phone charging was hard as our two-pin plugs didn’t fit, but we used the USB on the tv.
    Traditional bed was hard, but expected. Room really quaint. A little far from the centre but you could explore more. Amazing courtyard layout.
    au
    9.2
    14 October 2017
    Extra helpful host. Very authentic (chinese) accommodation.
    HELEN
    gb
    9.6
    13 October 2017
    Authentic, relaxing guest house in old Pingyao
    Wi-fi was a bit erratic. Towels were not changed on a daily basis.
    Very relaxing option just inside the city walls. Rooms are in a series of courtyards and beautifully decorated. Very peaceful. Breakfast is simple but adequate - coffee is good. Mia, the owner, is very hospitable and helpful. The historic centre and restaurants are within a 5 to 10 minute walk. A night in Pingyao would suffice but it is a nice place to relax for a couple of days.
    Jon
    us
    9.6
    7 October 2017
    Highly recommendable place to stay in Pingyao!!!
    This was a great stay! The owners were fantastic and they picked me up from the taxi and walked me to the hotel. The hotel grounds are beautiful. It is just a great place, I highly recommend booking it.
    An Aussie and a Pom
    au
    9.6
    3 October 2017
    Lovely courtyard hotel close to Pingyao old town centre
    It was a little tricky to find our way there from the little south gate where the taxi dropped us off - make sure you print out your map first! Bathroom is one big wet room so it got a bit damp, but in the scheme of things that wasn't a major issue.
    This is a lovely little courtyard hotel with friendly, helpful staff and a quiet relaxing ambience, close enough to the centre of the Pingyao that it's easy to access but just far enough away that it's lovely and peaceful. Felt very safe walking through the area at night. Breakfast was fine (English or Chinese), there are free laundry facilities and Mia couldn't be a more helpful host. Wish we'd stayed longer!
    Sue
    cn
    9.6
    2 October 2017
    Delightful place, well above expectations and a most comfortable stay.
    Great communication before we arrived. Our hosts were lovely and spoke good English. This beautiful ancient home was a delightful setting. Excellent home cooking served in the green, peaceful courtyard.
Loading reviews