Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.5
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.9
Value
9.4

Reviews

    Eline
    nl

    Review score

    9.2
    17 September 2018

    Lovely courtyard place, great staff

    My kang bed (raised platform with thin mattress) was quite hard - similar to a futon, not everyone will be a fan. I think they also have rooms with normal beds so check the room before booking
    Lovely courtyard hotel in a quiet part of the old town of Pingyao, spend a lot of time in the garden and courtyard area. Room was small but very convenient for one person, staff was superb, organised train station pick-ups, made delicious breakfasts even after the official time had ended (I had no idea until I checked the menu later) and gave all the tips for a great Pingyao stay.
    Jenny
    au

    Review score

    10
    16 September 2018

    Excellent property.

    This property has great atmosphere, beautiful serene gardens to relax in. Entertained by the 2 puppies, rabbit and cats. Mia and her staff went out of there way to help, organising drivers, transfers and anything we needed. The staff helped to this stay memorable. Would definately stay here again.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    4 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Diego
    it

    Review score

    8.8
    3 September 2018

    Very nice location in an historical context.

    The bathroom was a little stinking, the traditional beds were very big but exceptionally hard, the location is good within the city walls but a 15 minutes walk is needed to get to the central streets.
    The historical location, the garden, the extra big bed, the free mobile guide-phone for international calls, the English speaking personnel (a rarity in China), the welcoming with luggage transportation outside the city walls. Some rooms are very romantic.
    Inmaculada
    es

    Review score

    9.6
    2 September 2018

    Great place!!

    The place is very pretty, as in the pictures. The room is nice, The bed is very big and confortable. Everything clean, great internet with VPN connection. The best of all is the stuff, they are very friendly, they speak English. Pingyao is a nice place as well.
    wimyogya
    id

    Review score

    10
    25 August 2018

    Can't think of a better place to stay in Pingyao! Book!

    We didnt like that we had booked for just 1 night. The homy feeling, the cosy courtyard ambiance and above all the superfantastic service made us long for more...
    See the above. A special box of compliments for hotel management assistant Mia (perfect English, very helpful and accurate. And during our stay the 11yo son Bob was the real star and treat of the place. An absolute smart and friendly guy. A walking translator for his dad. A future Nobel Prize winner: he wants to be an astronomy scientist. He will succeed. What a guy!
    Manuel
    lu

    Review score

    10
    19 August 2018

    If you go to Pingyao, this is the place to stay.

    The staff made us feel at home: very helpful, they have organised transfers from and to the train station (3 kids + 3 big bags would never fit in a normal taxi), they have provided a map and proposed a plan to explore old town that perfectly fitted in our 1 day plan. Friendly and nice, they have also prepared a wonderful dinner. Definitely a place to recommend. Oh, yes! The beds were the biggest I have ever seen: we would probably fit the 5 in only one. Thanks Mia and the others.
    Linda
    nl

    Review score

    10
    14 August 2018
    Lovely courtyard Great food with glutenfree options Friendly people and Mia can help you with tour options Beautiful village
    Patrick
    fr

    Review score

    10
    5 August 2018
    Lovely place, close by walk to main street of old Pingyao with a backyard where it's very pleasant to get breakfirst or dinner. You have all facilities of down town place without the noise of hôtels located in main street
    Jean-Luc
    be

    Review score

    10
    2 August 2018

    Perfect spot to stay in Pingyao

    Really nice staff, very helpfull and full of good advice. The room was very pretty and calm.
    M. Steehouwer
    nl

    Review score

    10
    1 August 2018

    Nice hotel!

    Good location inside the old town. Nice room and cosy garden. Wifi was good, breakfast available (although bit expensive and only western food, we prefered Chinese breakfast). People are really nice and helpful. We enjoyed the hotel garden. Drinks in lobby are ok priced.
    Gianni
    it

    Review score

    8.8
    1 August 2018

    fantastic

    It's not an hotel so you don't have 24hours reception and you have to go to bed at 1 a.m. but it doesn't matter.
    the owner was very very kind and helped me a lot with a problem i had. I used her personal fridge. Very nice location . she speaks english very well and in China is not so common.
    Valeria
    cn

    Review score

    10
    30 July 2018

    Fabulous

    Mia and her team are very friendly, attentive and professional. I loved everything about City Wall Old House: the comfy room, the relaxed atmosphere, and the proximity to Pingyao's center.
    Wouter
    nl

    Review score

    10
    29 July 2018
    The staff was incredibly kind and helpful and went above and beyond to make our trip very pleasant. The room was well equipped and clean, probably the cleanest we have seen in China so far. Would recommend to couples or small groups.
    Monica
    gb

    Review score

    10
    28 July 2018

    Great place from where to explore wonderful Pingyao!

    Time went too fast...
    Atmospheric, authentic, full of character. A lovely old courtyard building with a pleasant garden where to have your breakfast. The walk to the central area (where most main attractions are concentrated) takes 10 or 15 minutes, but it is a charming walk and I found it to be safe at any time of the day. The owners and the staff are wonderful. Strongly recommended!
    es

    Review score

    9.2
    28 July 2018
    Great location inside the old town. They contacted us the previous day and organised a taxi to pick us up at the old train station. The lady at reception was extremely helpful and kind and could communicate in English which is difficult sometimes in China. The hotel is actually a typical Pingyao house in a quiet street. We were extremely happy here. They offer breakfast if needed. Strongly recommended.
    Hanne
    be

    Review score

    10
    24 July 2018

    Excellent stay!

    Nothing
    We had a very comfortable stay at this beautiful place! Very nice clean room, excellent breakfast and we recommend to have diner also, which was the best food we had in China! Mia and her staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect! We will definitely come back! Thank you so much!
    Nicola
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    20 July 2018
    Fabulous friendly staff who made us feel welcome. Beautiful courtyard gardens. Great location, lovely ambience, nice rooms!
    nicole davis
    es

    Review score

    9.6
    17 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kevin
    au

    Review score

    10
    12 July 2018

    Fantastic Courtyard Hotel & Setting

    Great courtyard atmosphere. Felt like the vibe of the hotel an being extension of family and their pets. Really nice. Friendly and wanting to help with all your queries. Would recommend their food...yummy. If are into coffee like we are ( being from Melbourne) would highly recommend Coffee by Shrew a little place on Chenghuangmiao Jie. Really good + try the cheesecake!!
Loading reviews